Milano Named to Butkus Watch List

The complete Butkus Award Watch List can be found here.

Texas linebacker Malik Jefferson made Sports Illustrated's list of the top-100 players in the country for the 2016 college football season.

For the second straight season, Notre Dame linebacker Nyles Morgan has been named to the Butkus Award preseason watch list. The award, named in honor of legendary linebacker Dick Butkus, annually recognizes the nation's top collegiate linebacker. Jewell led Iowa with 126 total tackles, including 62 solo stops and three sacks. Head coach Charlie Strong has been high on the linebacker's potential and it looks like the national awards committees feel the same way.

Smith was named an All-Pac-12 honorable mention and earned Freshman All-American first team nods from multiple sources. Semifinalists for the award will be named on October 31 and finalists on November 21. His four interceptions ranked second on the team, while his 7.5 tackles for loss tied for second best.

USC's season opening foe Alabama featured three players on the list including Ryan Anderson, Rueben Foster and Tim Williams.

The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes candidates from 44 universities. Last season, he started twice and appeared in all 13 games. Derrick Johnson won the Butkus Award, which began in 1985, following a standout 2004 season.

  • Rosalie Stanley