NBC to broadcast Olympics live in Seattle

NBC announced Wednesday that it will broadcast the 2018 Winter Olympics from Pyeongchang, South Korea, live across all time zones.

Universal was caught off guard during the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio.

The negotiations between the NHL and IIHF have been heated for some time, leading the IIHF to say that failing to participate in the 2018 Olympics could affect the league's intentions of a foray into China for the 2022 Games. The network explained the decision to the New York Times.

NBC brought in more than $800 million in ad sales for the Sochi Olympics.

But NBC has long carried enough weight with the International Olympic Committee that it can influence start times during the Games.

While NBC's prime-time Olympics rating will continue to be essential, "the days of it being the sole metric are absolutely over", said Lovinger.

The 2018 Winter Olympics will be held in Pyeongchang, South Korea, which is 13 hours ahead of the East Coast and 16 hours ahead of the West Coast. The announcement was made today by Jim Bell, President, NBC Olympics Production & Programming.

It will once again work with BuzzFeed to co-produce content for Snapchat.

Mr. Lovinger said NBCU's deal with Snapchat was struck too close to the Rio Games to fully capitalize on advertising opportunities.

NBC's move also reinforces the belief that live TV audiences are a more valued commodity in an age when viewers choose to watch scripted TV shows online or through on-demand platforms rather than at a set time scheduled by a network.

As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

For the 2018 Games, NBC's primetime broadcast will begin at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, and 5 p.m. PT.

  • Marlene Weaver