Akshay Kumar best actor, 'Kasaav' named best feature film at Nat Awards

Megastar Mohanlal, who won the Special Jury Award today at the 64th National Film Awards, expressed happiness over commercially successful movies being considered for the honour.

The megastar took to twitter to express gratitude and posted a video.

Suriya-Vikram K Kumar's 24 gets the Best Cinematography award bagged by Tirru and for the Best VFX. Also, the jury was equally supportive of me. Well, what else can we expect from the TFI award functions which are held only to make money rather than to honor the true talent and encourage good cinema.

Twinkle Khanna also responded with a amusing tweet, congratulating her husband for his ultimate win, even though he's missed out on other Bollywood awards.

Malayalam film "Maheshinte Prathikooram" won the best original screenplay award and the best dialogues went to Telugu movie "Peli Chuplu".

Kashmiri actress Zaira Wasim won the best supporting actress award for her performance as a young Geeta Phogat in the Aamir Khan-led wrestling drama "Dangal". While the film released in March 2017, to rave reviews, it was eligible for the National Awards as eligibility depends on when a film procured its Censor certificate, which it did in 2016.

"I am very happy that Ventilator won three National Awards". Interestingly, it was Bapu Padmanabha's first foray into film music. Mohanlal won the special jury mention for his versatile performances in the films Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol, Pulimurugan and Janatha Garage.

The six industries of the south - Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Kannada, Tulu and Konkani - bagged a total of 18 awards, while movies from Assam, Bengal, Maharashtra and Manipur also won in different categories.

A new award has been constituted for Best Action Director (Stunt Choreography), which went to Peter Hein for Malayalam film "Pulimurugam". Asked about the same, Priyadarshan said, "For the best actor category, we had four people in the final round".

Best costume designer award went to Sachin for the Marathi film "Cycle".

Hindi films "Kadvi Hawa" and "Mukthi Bhawan" received special mentions.

  • Marlene Weaver