Mike D'Antoni wins NBA Coach of the Year

The NBA Awards 2017 results were announced on Monday evening from the first-ever televised awards show for the league.

D'Antoni was announced as the victor of NBA's Coach of the Year award Monday during the league's award show on TNT.

D'Antoni played point guard for the Herd from 1970-73 and helped lead Marshall to a No. 8 national ranking and a 23-4 record in 1972, earning an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament in the process.

"I never thought I would be in New York and have to thank the sports writers for winning Coach of the Year", cracked D'Antoni, a former New York Knicks coach.

Brogdon averaged 10.2 points and 4.2 assists this past season - the lowest of any victor - but became the second player in Bucks franchise history to win the honor, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (1969-70).

D'Antoni, 66, received the gong after guiding the Rockets - who finished eighth in 2015-16 - to the third seed in the Western Conference and a 55-27 win-loss record. Dan, who was a three-year starter, averaged 17.5 points per game as a senior and was elected to Marshall's Athletic Hall of Fame in 1990.

Brogdon made history by becoming the first player not picked in the first round since the common draft era began in 1966 to win the award.

Russell won 11 championships as a player with the Boston Celtics and went on to become the NBA's first black coach.

The NBA Finals MVP award is named for Russell, who was one of the most dominant defensive players in NBA history. He's won the award three times in the past, most recently in 2014.

The Oklahoma City All-Star joined Oscar Robertson as the only players to average a triple-double for an entire season, leading the Thunder into the playoffs after Kevin Durant left for Golden State.

Milwaukee Bucks guard Malcom Brogdon was named Rookie of the Year, while team-mate Giannis Antetokounmpo was the league's Most Improved Player.

  • Rosalie Stanley