BCCI announces teams for T20s against Kiwis, Tests against Lanka

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squad for upcoming New Zealand T20 series with Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj the new faces coming in. Prasad quelled speculation that Kohli - who has been playing continously since the IPL across all formats - had asked to be rested for the Lanka Test series.

The first T20I, to be held in Delhi, will be the last Test of pacer Ashish Nehra. There are no surprises in the Test squad with Abhinav Mukund making way for a fit-again first-choice opener Murali Vijay.

MSK Prasad also clarified that whether Nehra will play the first T20 or not is subjected to the decision by the team management.

22-year-old Iyer was in fine form in the recently concluded series between New Zealand A and India A where he scored 317 runs in the four matches including a highest score of 108. "We will continue with him and nurture him", said Prasad.

T20 SQUAD: Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jsprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Ashish Nehra (only for the first T20). While Iyer has been a consistent performer for Mumbai and India A during the past one year, Siraj came into prominence after he played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL. Read Also India vs New Zealand series 1st ODI: India lose, but Virat Kohli gets closer to god. "He is doing well, he has been duly recognised and rewarded as well", Prasad said. "I will make it very clear and candid - we have clearly communicated to the player and the team management, that we are only looking at him till the New Zealand series", he said.

Virat Kohli (capt), K.L. Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-capt), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma.

  • Rosalie Stanley