Naresh Agrawal regrets his controversial comment on Jaya Bachchan

"He is presently at 36 MLA votes after the son of Naresh Agarwal, an SP MLA, yesterday (Monday) chose to vote for our candidate".

UP BJP vice-president JPS Rathore said, "The party has fielded 11 candidates for the ongoing Rajya Sabha elections from UP".

Mr. Agarwal, however, had a few awkward moments.

Swaraj said in a tweet, "Shri Naresh Agarwal has joined Bhartiya Janata Party".

But with the recent spat over AP's funding (with the Centre) in the Union Budget 2018, and with both the TDP and BJP withdrawing their ministers from the state and union cabinets, the Telugu Desam Party led by AP chief minister N. Chandrababu Naidu has chose to play it safe and avoid mudslinging over the RS seats. Likewise, Congress is also having enough numbers of MLAs through which it will easily retain its lone Rajya Sabha seat from Madhya Pradesh.

Agrawal, who earlier was the general secretary of the Samajwadi Party and a Rajya Sabha member, was reportedly unhappy with the party president and former chief minister Akhilesh Yadav for giving the Rajya Sabha ticket to Jaya Bachchan.

Speaking to reporters, UP Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma said, "If you see our list of Rajya Sabha candidates, all the regions have got representation on the basis of merit".

In July previous year, he compared Hindu Gods with alcohol in a Parliament speech (Vishnu resides in whiskey, Ram in rum etc).

In 2013, he had called Modi a "madari" and Sometime back, he also called Kulbhushan Jadhav a "terrorist", and justified the Pakistan government's behaviour vis-à-vis him.

The BJP asked its two party leaders, Vidya Sagar Sonkar and Salil Vishnoi, along with a Ghaziabad-based businessman Anil Agarwal to file papers on Monday. "Good that he showed his true colors". He was a member of the cabinet of Rajnath Singh.

Ministers unite across party lines to condemn Naresh Agarwal's comment on Jaya Bachchan.

Agrawal represents the Hardoi constituency at the Upper House, and at the expiration of his term, the party has chosen to field Bachchan from that seat.

  • Joey Payne