Senate elections 2018: The number game

PPP leader Aitzaz Ahsan, despite his party's "surprisingly good" performance in the Senate elections, congratulated PTI candidate Chaudhry Sarwar for being the only opposition member to win a Senate seat from Punjab. She referred to Khan as the lawmaker who cursed upon the parliament.

Concerning Faisal Sakhi Butt's candidature from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa even though he doesn't belong to the province, former President Asif Ali Zardari was quoted as saying in a recent TV interview that his in-laws are from Peshawar and that would help him to get at least four votes.

Senate has 104 members elected for six years, but half of them retire every three years at completion of term and new Senators are elected indirectly by provincial and national assemblies through proportional representation.

The 52 Senators retiring this month were elected in 2012.

Pakistan held elections for its Senate to elect 52 members of the house for the next six years on Saturday amid strict measures to ensure transparency, the Election Commission said.

Four senators would be elected from FATA on general seats.

Four candidates have won senate election from Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) where results were the first to come out.

MQM's upstart Bahadurabad faction's deputy convener, however, expressed satisfaction with the results and said that the party had expected to win one seat since they only had 31 MPAs.

Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) of the country's former cricketing hero Imran Khan appeared to be the third largest party in the Senate by winning majority seats from northwestern Khyber Pakhtunkhawa (KP) province.

"I am the poorest candidate among the contestants for the Senate". The last elections were held in 2015 and the next will be conducted in 2021. Of these, 21 are PML-N members, 14 PkMAP members, five PML-Q, eight JUI-F, 11 National Party, two from the BNP, a lawmaker each from the MWM, the ANP and the BNP-A, and one independent member.

There were 65 independent candidates including 23 from the PML-N. PTI's Mehr Taj Roghani secured the women seat from KP. PML-N-backed independent candidates for the two seats reserved for women are Prime Minister Shahid Khan Abbasi's sister Saadia Abbasi and Nuzhat Sadiq.

However, the party candidates are supported by PML-N and will formally join it after the elections.

Prominent candidates from Sindh include sitting Senate chairman Raza Rabbani, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar, Maula Bux Chandio, Murtaza Wahab, Kamran Tessori, Ahmad Chinoy, Anis Ahmad Qaimkhani and Farogh Naseem. He also thanked all those who voted for him.

  • Joey Payne