Alan Page Receives Presidential Medal Of Freedom

Rock and roll star Elvis Presley has been posthumously awarded the Medal of Freedom, America's highest civilian honour, by President Donald Trump.

"As mayor of the birthplace of Elvis Presley, it is my great honor to accept an invitation to the White House for the posthumous awarding of the Presidential Medal of Freedom to Elvis Presley", Shelton said.

Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Maureen Scalia (wife of the late Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia), and Dr. Miriam Adelson after receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom at the White House on November 16, 2018.

What happened next? Well, a good portion of the Twitterverse is convinced Trump wasn't just admiring Scalia for having a big family, but he was also impressed that Scalia and his wife, um, consummated their marriage so many times. "I'm not supposed to say it, but that's the way life goes". Orrin Hatch of Utah.

They were major proponents of Trump's decision a year ago to formally recognize Jerusalem as Israel's capital and formally move the USA embassy there, which the president recognized during Friday's ceremony.

The president praised Scalia for his lifetime of service and his more than 30 years on the bench, giving about 900 written opinions that helped guide the nation.

Speaking about Hatch, Trump offered bluntly: "He liked me from the beginning and therefore I like him".

Roger Staubach, 76, who played quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys, and Alan Page, 73, who played defensive tackle for the Minnesota Vikings, became the first professional football players to be awarded the Medal of Freedom.

Some questioned Trump's decision to recognize Miriam Adelson so soon after the November 6 election. The president then said: "Wow".

Abrams noted that Miriam Adelson has donated her time and money to combatting addiction. He contrasted her award with those given by President Barack Obama to Chita Rivera, Robert De Niro, Barbra Streisand, Ellen DeGeneres and Warren Buffett, among others.

The Medal of Freedom is given to people who have made significant contributions to the United States' national interests and security, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

Miriam Adelson said she is "deeply humbled and moved by this exceptional honor".

  • Joey Payne