Zach Johnson Accidentally Hits Ball on Practice Swing at the Masters

Johnson had another questionable hit earlier in the day, when his ball zoomed toward several terrified spectators.

AUGUSTA, Ga. - It was a practice swing unlike any other.

Zach Johnson hit the most relatable shot of the Masters on Friday when he accidentally made contact with his ball off the 13th tee at Augusta National while taking a practice swing. His ball then ricocheted off the right tee marker and landed about 10 yards in front of Johnson, who casually walked up and grabbed his ball. Under USGA rules, Johnson was allowed to re-tee without penalty because it was not intentional.

"Oh s--!" Johnson said immediately. I thought I had done it all but now I know I've done it all.

Ultimately, Johnson did not need to take a penalty stroke because he had not meant to hit the ball and it was not yet in play. However, because the rules state a ball is not in play until after the tee shot, Johnson was able to re-tee it and hit away.

"There's a first for everything boys", Johnson added.

"I actually hit a good tee shot after that", said Johnson who went on to birdie the hole on his way to a one-over 73 that left him three over for the tournament. "I don't think I could do it again if I tried". The 2007 Masters champ bounced back in the early going on his second round, moving to one-over par on several occasions.

Matt Kuchar, who also appeared in the group, wouldn't let Johnson forget his gaffe.

  • Rosalie Stanley